Is Takoyaki Halal? It is, if it meets these standards…

                by Joost Nusselder | Updated:  December 15, 2020
I love creating free content full of tips for my readers, you. I don't accept paid sponsorships, my opinion is my own, but if you find my recommendations helpful and you end up buying something you like through one of my links, I could earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more

Is Takoyaki halal?

While some might be able to answer that question off the bat, it will be a source of confusion for others.

Questions such as what is Takoyaki? and what is halal? are just a few that will flood the mind.

Well, not to worry. This article will answer all of those questions. Let’s answer it real quick and then I’ll dive into why:

Takoyaki is halal when properly prepared. The ingredients in these octopus balls are all “permissible to eat” and as long as the chef sticks to the proper ways of cleaning and preparing there should be absolutely no issue there.

When you are done reading it, you will feel well educated in all culinary matters concerning Takoyaki and halal foods.

* If you like Asian food, I’ve made some great video’s with recipes & ingredient explanation on Youtube you’d probably enjoy:
Subscribe on Youtube

What is Takoyaki?

Takoyaki is also called ‘octopus balls’, but get your mind out of the gutter! It’s not that type of balls.

Takoyaki is a ball-shaped appetizer that is cooked in a specially molded pan.

It has a crispy, wheat flour-based batter shell and it is filled with minced octopus, pickled ginger, Tenkasu scraps, and green onion.

The balls are then brushed with Takoyaki sauce, which is similar to Worcestershire, and mayonnaise.

Finally, they are sprinkled with green laver and dried bonito flake shavings.

Takoyaki is often sold by street vendors in Japan but it is also served at Takoyaki restaurants. It can also be bought in supermarkets and other commercial outlets, and you can even make it yourself with one of these awesome takoyaki makers.

What is Halal?

Halal is an Arabic word that means ‘permissible to eat’. It refers to the dietary standards that are recommended in the Qur’an or Muslim scripture.

In general, foods are considered halal as long as they meet two basic requirements:

  1. They are free from components Muslims are prohibited from eating according to Islamic law.
  2. They are produced using utensils, equipment, or machinery that have not been cleaned in a way that is not acceptable according to Islamic law.

As that is still pretty vague, let us give you a rundown of some foods that are not acceptable:

In general, Muslims eat to maintain a strong physique which they feel supports a strong mind.

They do eat meat but they believe that the animals must be killed in the name of God.

The name of God must be spoken as the animal is being killed and the animal’s life must be taken in a manner that is as humane as possible as prescribed in the teachings of halal.

Is Takoyaki Halal?

At this point, you may still be wondering if Takoyaki is halal.

None of the ingredients seem to be on the ‘do not eat list’, but I’m sure there are certain things on that list you have never heard of.

You may also be wondering if octopus falls into any of those categories or whether the equipment used to prepare Takoyaki has been cleansed according to Islamic law.

Well, while that’s always questionable, overall, yes Takoyaki is halal. It does not contain any of the ingredients on the do not eat list.

Furthermore, we found it recommended in this Halal guide.

So, if you are trying to follow a halal diet, and you come across a street vendor serving these delicious Takoyaki snacks, go ahead and take a bite.

Read more: this is how you make delicious takoyaki

Joost Nusselder, the founder of Bite My Bun is a content marketer, dad and loves trying out new food with Japanese food at the heart of his passion, and together with his team he's been creating in-depth blog articles since 2016 to help loyal readers with recipes and cooking tips.